RINNASHARK SEA ANGLING CLUB WATERFORD
* IF You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact rinnasharksac@gmail.com
* BORN TO FISH

Latest topics
» Tackle for sale
Wed 8 Nov - 14:23 by GG

» zziplex zero plus for sale
Thu 2 Nov - 18:20 by paddyviking

» COD TAGGING
Thu 2 Nov - 10:46 by barry

» Where have all the fish gone
Tue 31 Oct - 9:13 by Admin

» Juvenile MAster Angler 2017
Sat 28 Oct - 20:55 by Sharky

» Juvenile Fixtures and Results 2017
Sat 28 Oct - 20:24 by Sharky

» Master Angler 2017 information
Thu 12 Oct - 10:55 by barry

» passage sat 11-2pm
Mon 2 Oct - 21:57 by barry

» 2017 MARTIN HALLEY MEMORIAL OPEN COMPETITION
Mon 2 Oct - 11:06 by barry

» Fishing Cod Baits
Mon 11 Sep - 9:40 by Admin

» 2017 Master Angler
Fri 25 Aug - 8:47 by Sharky

» !!!!CHANGE OF DATE!!!!
Wed 19 Jul - 10:34 by barry

» Shock Waves Tope
Mon 17 Jul - 10:06 by Admin

» Fish and Film
Sat 24 Jun - 17:55 by Admin

» Dunmore East Small Boats Festival 2017
Mon 29 May - 23:28 by Sharky

» 2017 Juvenile Fixture
Mon 24 Apr - 21:17 by Admin

» Ian Tyldesley 3 hrs · Hayle, United Kingdom · Great day out with Sam Narbett on Bluefin Charters made Amazing by hooking up with this monster Porbeagle Shark . Took nearly 1 hour 30 mins to get along side
Sun 9 Apr - 16:07 by Admin

» Boat fishing for juvenile s
Tue 4 Apr - 15:14 by barry

» Munster juvenile 2017
Thu 30 Mar - 8:54 by barry

» Salt rod holdall for sale.
Wed 29 Mar - 21:00 by AC

» 2017 Juvenile Fixture
Sun 5 Mar - 9:45 by Admin

» 2017 Fixtures Snr and Juv + Boats Competition Results
Mon 27 Feb - 22:25 by barry

» small boats
Mon 27 Feb - 22:05 by barry

» RINNASHARK SAC Today's Compettion has been moved to CHEEKPOINT @ 3pm
Sun 26 Feb - 10:11 by Admin

» Irish Specimen Fish Report 2016
Thu 26 Jan - 9:18 by Admin

» Major Boat Competitions 2017
Tue 3 Jan - 22:27 by barry

» Boat Master angler 2016
Tue 3 Jan - 22:15 by barry

» Rinnashark Juvenile Fixtures & Results 2016
Mon 12 Dec - 18:21 by Sharky

» Well done Alan Mulcahy
Mon 5 Dec - 18:21 by Admin

» 2017 TIDES Waterford
Sat 26 Nov - 11:32 by Admin

TEAM IRELAND U16/U21
Philip Griffen
Doing it all wrong Dad
Alan & Jamie
SHARK
HOME NATIONS CUP U16
BARRY
GERRY
RAY WITH HOME NATIONS CUP
NICE TOPE
Tramore Bass NO2
Ladies

Fish Tagging Project

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Fish Tagging Project

Post by Admin on Tue 28 Oct - 10:15

[img][/img]
[img][/img][img][/img]


Thank you for getting back to me so quickly. Your email clears up the confusion for me, we can now definitely put it in the database as Plaice Tag No. 0060. This means that the data in the first table in the letter I sent you is correct and that the fish grew some 12cm in the twelve months since release. I am glad that your members feel it is their fish now and tell them that i will personally ensure that they are informed should he be caught again. I would be more than happy for you to put the information up on your website.

Please remind you club members to look out for tags in other fish species. If your members can return the fish alive that would be great but ensure that they record tag number, total length of fish, date and position of capture and get the information to us here at the Marine Institute. If the fish cannot be returned alive store it ungutted on ice/frozen and we will get one of our scientists to collect the fish. With whole ungutted fish we can also look and diet etc and take DNA samples. As you can see from the Celtic Sea Cod Project update i sent you we have released plenty of tagged cod in your local area so you should especially look out for them.

Míle buíochas for your message and enthusiasm. It is good to get the anglers, young anglers especially, into the the habit of checking for tags on fish.

Happy fishing and taught lines.

Mise le meas,
Macdara
avatar
Admin
Admin
Admin

Male
Number of posts : 1115
Age : 69
Location : WATERFORD
Reputation : 6
Registration date : 2008-03-12

View user profile http://www.rinnasharksac.net

Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum